The Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981

The Order makes it an offence to sell, offer or expose for sale, or possess or transport for the purposes of sale, non-native species that are listed in Schedule 9 to the WCA and are specified for the purposes of this section by the Secretary of State through secondary legislation. The following species have been added to the list:

  • Fern, Water Azolla filiculoides
  • Parrot’s Feather Myriophyllum aquaticum
  • Pennywort, Floating Hydrocotyle ranunculoides
  • Primrose, Floating Water Ludwigia peploides
  • Primrose, Water Ludwigia grandiflora
  • Primrose, Water Ludwigia uruguayensis
  • Stonecrop, Australian Swamp (otherwise known as New Zealand Pygmyweed) Crassula helmsii

The Order extends to England and Wales and applies in relation to England only and came into force on 6th April 2014.